Prepare your data
Fields in the csv
Section titled “Fields in the csv”The csv must have the following columns, see also where to find it in your cad software:
| Name | Description | Example | Vectorworks | WYSIWYG | Depence | Capture 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fixture ID | a unique ID | 1001 | Channel | Spot | Fixture ID | Channel |
| Universe | the DMX universe | 1 | Universe | Patch Universe | DMX Address | Universe |
| Address | the DMX address | 64 | DMX Address | Patch Address | - | Address |
| Model | the symbol name | GLP JDC-1 | Symbol Name | Type | Name | Fixture |
| x | x-coordinate of the fixture | 1.25 | X Location | X | X Pos meter | Position X |
| y | y-coordinate of the fixture | -12.876 | Y Location | Y | Y Pos meter | Position Y |
| z | z-coordinate of the fixture | 0 | Z Location | Z | Z Pos meter | Position Z |
| Rot x | x-rotation of the fixture in degrees | 0 | xRot | RotX | X Rotation | Rotation X |
| Rot y | y-rotation of the fixture in degrees | 90 | yRot | RotY | Y Rotation | Rotation Y |
| Rot z | z-rotation of the fixture in degrees | 180 | zRot | RotZ | Z Rotation | Rotation Z |
| Model Short | a short description of the FixtureType. This will be used for the label in the desk | JDC-1 | User Field 1 | Notes | Short Name | External Identifier |
| Function | the lowest field in your hierarchy creating groups | LX-1, Speaker Left, … | Function | Purpose | Position on Stage | Purpose |
| Position | the middle field in the hierarchy to create groups | Floor, Press, … | Position | Position | Description | Location |
If your file does not follow one of these layouts, use the Custom CSV import and map the columns yourself.
Import options
Section titled “Import options”Press Import from File on the Start view of the prepare tab. In the Choose Import dialog, select your source and set the options:
| Option | Description |
|---|---|
| Source | Vectorworks CSV Merge, Wysiwyg Data Export, Depence Fixture Export separator=;, Capture CSV Export 26, Custom CSV (map columns) or My Virtual Rig (.mvr). |
| Round | Round the positions to None, .001, .01, .1 or 1. |
| Unit | The unit of the coordinates in your file: mm, cm, m, ft or in. prepare converts everything to meters. |
| Swap Position and Function | Swaps the content of the Position and Function columns. |
After the import, the Match view opens and the default settings of the current grandMA mode are loaded.
Vectorworks
Section titled “Vectorworks”- Import the prepare default table from our example files into your VWX file.
- If you are using Spotlight, the Fixture ID, patch, symbol name, and coordinates will be filled in automatically. You may need to adjust the short name, function, and position to achieve well-structured groups on the desk.
- Export this table in the format: CSV Merge (comma-separated) (*.csv).
WYSIWYG
Section titled “WYSIWYG”- Open a new WYG file.
- Import the WYG template from our example files.
- Start drawing or merge your existing WYG file.
- Fixture ID, patch, symbol name, and coordinates will be filled in automatically. You may need to adjust the short name, function, and position to create well-structured groups on the desk.
- To export, click on Data > Columns > Prepare > File > Export. Then, save the file as CSV (Comma delimited) (*.csv).
Depence
Section titled “Depence”- Open your Depence file.
- Import our Depence template by navigating to: Windows > Fixture Manager > File > Load Layout.
- Fixture ID, patch, symbol name, and coordinates will be filled in automatically. You may need to adjust the short name, function, and position to create well-structured groups on the desk.
- To export, click on File > Export Table, then save as a Comma Separated Values (*.csv) file using a semicolon (;) as the separator.
Capture 2026
Section titled “Capture 2026”- Open your Capture file.
- Fixture ID, patch, symbol name, and coordinates will be filled in automatically. You may need to adjust the short name, function, and position to create well-structured groups in the desk.
- To export, click on File > Export Fixtures > Save as: Comma Separated CSV File (*.csv)
My Virtual Rig
Section titled “My Virtual Rig”- Nothing to do here. Just choose your mvr-file.
Custom CSV
Section titled “Custom CSV”With Custom CSV (map columns) you can import any CSV file. After choosing the file, the Map CSV Columns dialog opens and reads the header row of your file.
| Option | Description |
|---|---|
| Delimiter | The separator of your file (e.g. , or ;). |
| Encoding | The text encoding of your file. |
| Header row | The row that holds the column names (starting at 1). Press Reload headers after changing one of these options. |
| Base fields | Choose a column for each field: Fixture ID (required), Universe, Address, Fixture Type, X/Y/Z, Rot X/Y/Z, Model Short (Type), Function and Position. |
| Extra fields | Map a column to the Function ID. |
| Custom (user) fields | Add custom field imports any other column as your own field. These fields show up in Show Data and can be used in templates. |
| Round / Unit / Swap Position/Function | The same options as in the import dialog. |
| DMX as “universe.address” | Enable this if universe and address are in one cell, e.g. 1.64. |
| Flip Rot Z when Y>0 | Negates the z-rotation of fixtures with a positive y-coordinate. |
You can save the mapping as a preset with Save as and reuse it with Load for the next file from the same source. Press Import to load the data.
Tips for good naming Shortname, Function and Position
Section titled “Tips for good naming Shortname, Function and Position”To fully leverage the potential of prepare consider the following tips on how to effectively use the three columns:
- Keep Values Short and Concise: Ensure all values are brief, as prepare will label your fixtures and groups using these three columns. For instance, use “JDC-1” instead of “GLP JDC-1 Spix Pro” or “Lighting Instruments GLP JDC-1” for the short name.
- Function Field: This field should describe the fixture’s role in your show. Good examples include “Frontlight” or “Speaker Left.” It’s also useful for dividing your fixtures into smaller groups when they don’t have a specific function, such as “LX1,” “Floor Left,” or “Side.”
- Position Field: This should provide a more general naming for your fixtures. If your show covers multiple areas, options like “Stage,” “Entrance,” or “Dancefloor” are suitable. Alternatively, use it to indicate the overall purpose or responsibility for those lights, such as “Press,” “Exhibition,” or “Cars.” It’s not advisable to use this field for each truss individually.